Published: Thu, October 12, 2017
Sports | By Spencer Underwood

UEFA unveils Nations League tiering with draw set for January 2018

UEFA unveils Nations League tiering with draw set for January 2018

The Republic of Ireland are in League B alongside Northern Ireland and Wales who they defeated to progress to a World Cup play-off on Monday.

All 55 European nations will take part in the competition which starts in September 2018 and will provide four qualifying spots for Euro 2020.

Joining England, Germany, Spain, Italy, France and Holland in League A will be Portugal, Belgium, Switzerland, Poland, Iceland and Croatia.

The draw for the groups within each league will take place on 24th January 2018.

But it also means there is likely to be some more convoluted permutations as the Euro 2020 qualifiers draw to a close about who or who could not make the play-offs.

The top four-ranked League B teams that do not qualify for Euro 2020 will enter play-offs in March 2020, with one finals place on offer.

Following the final round of qualifying games this week, the four different "leagues" of European clubs were confirmed yesterday.

In each league, four group winners are promoted (or play in the Finals, see below) and four teams are relegated for the next competition to be played in 2020.

More news: HEALTHBEAT 4: Breast Cancer Awareness Month

Austria, Russia, Slovakia, Sweden, Ukraine, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Denmark, Czech Republic and Turkey complete the 12 teams. However, if a whole league does not have enough teams for a play-off, which is conceivable in League A, then the places will be filled by the best-ranked teams from the league below.

League C: Hungary, Romania, Scotland, Slovenia, Greece, Serbia, Albania, Norway, Montenegro, Israel, Bulgaria, Finland, Cyprus, Estonia, Lithuania.

Uefa says teams in three-sided groups will play on four of the six matchdays.

Teams will be drawn into four groups of four.

Division D: Azerbaijan, Macedonia, Georgia, Belarus, Armenia, Faroe Islands, Latvia, Luxembourg, Kazakhstan, Moldova, Liechtenstein, Malta, Kosovo, Andorra, San Marino and Gibraltar.

Euro 2020 qualification will begin after the group stages of the Nations League concludes and will run throughout 2019, with the play-offs taking place the following Spring.

Honestly, Pies had completely forgotten about the imminent implementation of the UEFA Nations League, which is basically UEFA's attempt to address the dwindling appetite for the surfeit of meaningless friendlies that now clog up the global calendar.

Like this: