Published: Thu, November 30, 2017
Science | By Eileen Rhodes

YouTube goes social with Reels: A feature that lets users share Stories

YouTube goes social with Reels: A feature that lets users share Stories

Google said it's also bringing creator-focused features like the ability to link to YouTube videos and add "YouTube-y stickers" to Reels. The popularity of stories feature on Snapchat and later on Instagram has led to introduction of it on YouTube. If you already know this isn't a feature for you, don't worry-reels will only find their way onto your homepage as recommendations if you start engaging with them. In fact, YouTube even labeled the addition its "own spin on the popular "stories" format".

TechCrunch explains that YouTube Reels is a new video platform through which creators can upload create small video clips instead of long video clips. While the social effort started with the Community feature previous year, Google is now testing "Reels" - a cool name for a feature blatantly copied from Snapchat, Instagram, Facebook, Whatsapp, and Messenger - with a limited group of YouTubers.

How do YouTube Reels work?

Though it's like other platforms' versions of Stories, there are some key differences with Reels. Your most engaged viewers can now see Community posts in the Home feed, whether they're subscribed to your channel or not. The new feature is called Community and it has been in testing for quite some time.

More news: Here is why Jennifer Lawrence is 'Incredibly Rude' to her fans

Unfortunately, YouTube didn't share many details about Reels, mostly just saying that it will be in beta while the company learns about and ultimately improves the product.

Speaking of Community, YouTube is also expanding this to all creators that meet the same threshold of at least 10,000 subscribers.

According to the report, YouTube is set to call the feature "Reels". The feature is not yet generally available, so we haven't had a chance to test it ourselves.

YouTube will first experiment with a beta version of Reels before releasing it to all users.

Like this: