Published: Mon, March 12, 2018
World | By Melba Underwood

Chandimal banned for two matches

Chandimal banned for two matches

It was not a ideal start for India's second-string squad in the tournament as they lost by five wickets against the hosts in the opening match.

Sri Lanka were four overs short of their target within the allocated time, leading to the players being fined 60 percent of their match fees while Chandimal received two suspension points, in accordance with ICC regulations.

The tournament, timed to commemorate the host island's 70 years of independence, stays alive with all three teams having won a game each. Bowlers were too expensive in the match.

Continuing his stellar run at the top, Mendis meanwhile welcomed Mustafizur with a six and brought up his fifty in just 26 balls, his third half-century in four innings. Among rest players, Tharanga remain not out with 32 runs so far.

More news: Will Canada be exempted from USA imposition of trade tariffs?

Where to get live cricket score India vs Sri Lanka, Nidahas Trophy T20 Tri-Nation Series? But the Tigers made things possible. He was assisted by cameos from Tamim Iqbal and Liton Das who gave a 74 run opening stand to the visitors laying down the ideal foundation for the grand chase to be in sight. Tamim Iqbal contributed to the run chase with 47 runs while Soumya Sarkar kept up the momentum with his 24 runs.

An infamous failure; now a famous chase - Mushfiqur Rahim centre-stage in both.

However, Mushfiqur used all his experience, picking boundaries at will and not wilting under pressure as he scored an unbeaten 72 off just 35 balls.

India: Rohit Sharma (c), Shikhar Dhawan (vice-captain), KL Rahul, Suresh Raina, Manish Pandey, Dinesh Karthik (wk), Deepak Hooda, Washington Sundar, Yuzvendra Chahal, Axar Patel, Vijay Shankar, Shardul Thakur, Jaydev Unadkat, Mohammad Siraj and Rishabh Pant (wk). By losing five wickets in 19.4 overs Bangladesh made the chase successful.

Like this: