Quincy, IL News - Journal930.com
Quincy, IL News - Journal930.com
Monday, Nov 30, 2015


GOP looks to back Obama into a corner

3 hours, 31 minutes ago by skim@politico.com (Seung Min Kim)

Congressional Republicans are angling for some big wins before the New Year.
View Article

As Cruz gains, GOP senators rally for Rubio

3 hours, 30 minutes ago by skim@politico.com (Seung Min Kim)

The idea of Cruz as the nominee makes fellow GOP senators shudder.
View Article

5 takes on 2016 as the campaign kicks into high gear

3 hours, 30 minutes ago by gthrush@politico.com (Glenn Thrush)

Trump could win, Cruz runs the best campaign, and Rubio has to start fighting to survive.
View Article

Obama casts climate talks as world's last best chance

50 minutes ago by isaac@politico.com (Edward-Isaac Dovere)

'There is such a thing as being too late,' the president warns, quoting Martin Luther King, Jr.
View Article

Comments by Carson and Trump strike off-note for Syrian refugees in Turkey

35 minutes ago by Ptemple-west@politico.com (Patrick Temple-West)

View Article

Poll: Fewer Americans see climate change as a serious threat

1 hour, 5 minutes ago by ngass@politico.com (Nick Gass)

View Article

Trump abruptly cancels black clergy press conference

14 hours, 14 minutes ago by bschreckinger@politico.com (Ben Schreckinger)

View Article

GOP contenders carefully denounce Colorado attack

16 hours, 53 minutes ago by keast@politico.com (Kristen East)

They do so without saying anything that would appear to be an endorsement of Planned Parenthood.
View Article

Kasich slams Trump as divisive and insulting

21 hours, 7 minutes ago by lnelson@politico.com (Louis Nelson)

View Article

Obama's leadership to be tested in Paris

15 hours, 26 minutes ago

The president's visit will show whether he can lead the world on terrorism as well as climate change.
View Article

White House reins in expectations for Paris

16 hours, 35 minutes ago by arestuccia@politico.com (Andrew Restuccia)

A deal is likely to come from the climate summit, but it won't lend itself to heroic narratives.
View Article

Everything you need to know about the Paris climate talks

Here's why this conference is such a big deal.
View Article

Who gets credit for climate accord? W, that’s who

1 day ago by arestuccia@politico.com (Andrew Restuccia)

The U.S. president who doubted global warming science merits a spot in the history books for the upcoming Paris climate accord.
View Article

Hillary Clinton's pothole politics

12 hours, 2 minutes ago by akarni@politico.com (Annie Karni)

Clinton is rolling up endorsements from big-city mayors. And that was before she unveiled her $275 billion infrastructure plan.
View Article

Trump quadruples down: Muslims 'went wild' after 9/11

43 minutes ago by ngass@politico.com (Nick Gass)

View Article

Cruz, Rubio line up to steal away Bush supporters

21 hours, 23 minutes ago by estokols@politico.com (Eli Stokols)

Republican Jewish Coalition audition will give Bush a chance to convince early backers he is still viable.
View Article

New Hampshire takes Clinton, Sanders on wild polling ride

3 hours, 25 minutes ago by SShepard@politico.com (Steven Shepard)

Surveys in recent weeks suggest everything from a narrow Hillary Clinton advantage to a comfortable lead for Bernie Sanders.
View Article

Obama in Paris: Memorial visit

12 hours, 13 minutes ago by keast@politico.com (Kristen East)

President Barack Obama paid his respects early Monday to the victims of the Nov. 13 Paris terror attacks. Upon arriving in the city, he made an unannounced stop at the Bataclan concert hall, where the majority of the 130 people slain that day were murdered while attending an Eagles of Death Metal show.
View Article

Why ISIL Will Fail on Its Own

1 day ago

As a movement, it’s dangerous. But as a state, it’s collapsing. Here’s how to make that work for us.
View Article

Once a Hawk, Brzezinski Sees Hope for U.S.-Russia Relations

3 days, 2 hours ago by mhirsh@politico.com (Michael Hirsh)

A Cold War hardliner explains why this time is very different.
View Article

Putin Is Testing Our Resolve

5 days, 12 hours ago

A former senior Pentagon adviser says recent Russian incursions into NATO airspace are evidence of the Kremlin’s growing aggressiveness.
View Article

Getting the Politics of Fear Right

6 days, 3 hours ago

Trump exploits our fears, while Obama underestimates them. Why can’t someone just deal with them?
View Article

What Woodrow Wilson Did For Black America

6 days, 14 hours ago

Yes, he was a racist. Does that mean we should banish him from the rolls of Progressive history?
View Article

Mental health bill collides with guns — again

3 days, 2 hours ago by behley@politico.com (Brianna Ehley)

A sweeping mental health overhaul cast as a congressional response to gun violence could run afoul of ... gun control.
View Article

Rangel's retirement sparks generational, ethnic shift in New York

2 days ago by tmeyer@politico.com (Theodoric Meyer)

The congressman's district became more Hispanic as fellow African-American politicians waited to succeed him.
View Article

Schock reaches agreement with prosecutors over disputed documents

2 days, 17 hours ago by jsherman@politico.com (Jake Sherman)

View Article

Yes, we should consider refugees’ religion

It’s not only fair, it’s written into the law.
View Article

No, the governors can’t stop Syrian migrants

Their talking point might be clever politics, but it's a legal non-starter.
View Article

What Obama wishes he could say about ISIL

5 days, 15 hours ago by isaac@politico.com (Edward-Isaac Dovere)

He's using all his tools, including ones he doesn't like such as drones and data collection.
View Article

U.S. steps up Ukrainian combat training

6 days, 13 hours ago by mcrowley@politico.com (Michael Crowley)

Training Ukraine's army may be more important than providing weapons to fight Russian-backed separatists, some U.S. officials say.
View Article

Man detained after jumping White House fence

3 days, 17 hours ago by ecollins@politico.com (Eliza Collins)

View Article

The 2016 ballot wars begin

3 days, 2 hours ago

Each failure to appear on a ballot undermines a candidate’s credibility as a national figure.
View Article

Cruz campaign puts family out front

2 days ago by kglueck@politico.com (Katie Glueck)

In the Texas senator's bid for the White House, his father and wife are the tip of the spear.
View Article

War over soda taxes coming to a polling place near you

1 day, 1 hour ago by HBottemiller@politico.com (Helena Bottemiller Evich)

Health advocates are plotting to bring voter referendums and legislation to tax soda in as many as a dozen U.S. cities in 2016.
View Article

Angela Merkel forges new alliance on refugees

by jbarigazzi@politico.com (Jacopo Barigazzi)

Western EU countries seek to sideline opposition to taking in Syrian refugees.
View Article

Israel halts EU role in peace talks over labels row

Benjamin Netanyahu ups the diplomatic standoff.
View Article

Europe goes hot Turkey

The migration crisis has thrown the EU and Ankara together. The next chapter will determine if the relationship can last.
View Article

Insiders: Trump’s grip on Iowa is tenuous

3 days, 1 hour ago by SShepard@politico.com (Steven Shepard)

POLITICO Caucus shows Cruz gaining ground and Clinton pushing Sanders aside in the early voting states.
View Article

The Koch intelligence agency

1 week, 5 days ago by kvogel@politico.com (Kenneth P. Vogel)

As the billionaires’ network works to reshape U.S. politics, it keeps a close eye on the left.
View Article

Dim Lights, Smart City

1 week, 3 days ago by nscola@politico.com (Nancy Scola)

Charlotte is banking on energy conservation.
View Article

How Washington created some of the worst schools in America

5 days, 3 hours ago by mseverns@politico.com (Maggie Severns)

'It's just the epitome of broken,' Arne Duncan says. 'Just utterly bankrupt.'
View Article